Select grade below

Life Members Function

Tuesday, March 19, 2024 - 7:56 AM


Recently retired league captain Michael Sinclair’s long term loyalty was acknowledged when he was presented with his Life Membership badge at the club’s annual Life Members’ lunch on March 16.

Three other prominent club members also received Life Membership badges: dual premiership player Greg Bennett; accounts manager John Matthews; and the president of the Past Players and Officials Association, Wayne Koch.

Michael, who has hung up his boots after 161 league games, is the first player since Willie Dick in 2000 to meet the automatic requirement of 150 games to receive the honour. A courageous defender who also represented WA, Michael had an unlucky run with injuries in recent seasons which robbed him of at least a further 50 games. He won the Butcher Medal for league fairest and best in 2016.

Clever rover Greg Bennett played 107 league games, winning the Doug Buckingham Award in 1967 for the outstanding junior in the league side. He kicked three goals in the 1968 grand final victory. Greg also played with Glenelg – representing South Australia - and Claremont, before returning to give Perth great service off the field, including as a club director.

John Matthews is well known to members for his stewardship of the club finances, which has also involved countless hours of voluntary work. At the popular pre home game lunches, for example, he is ever present watching over raffle ticket sales and the tipping competition, both important additions to club finances.

John’s son Damian, a former club president (2005-10) has been a Life Member since 2012

Wayne Koch was a prominent Perth junior whose football progress was interrupted by National Service training in the 1960s. A loyal Demon, he worked on the club’s history and helped produce “From Redlegs to Demons” which traces the club’s story since its inception in 1899. He was also a driving force in establishing the club’s history centre which is managed by the PPOA.




PIC (l to r):   Michael Sinclair, Wayne Koch, John Matthews and Greg Bennett.